Dina J.

Request
Call Us!
844-532-6669

Availability

Live-in

Requested Rate

Live-in: $300 / day

Experience

8 years

About Me

I was a college professor for about 17 years, teaching Russian language and Russian literature. I came to the United States in 2001. I had a lot of jobs here and there and the I began working in the home care field in 2014. I really like to help people. When you get older, you tend to get more lonely and need more attention. I like to help people to feel not so lonely and help them with their needs. I try to help people as much as I can. My clients have all loved me. I'm a kind person. I'm thoughtful, and I think about the clients and their situation. I put my client first, always. If it's possible, I want to make their life better. I'm very flexible and can assist you with just about anything. I don't like to get angry; I try to maintain a quiet and calm environment. In my spare time, I like to go hiking and I love to knit.

Recommendations

Dina was employed by my family as a 24/7 companion/elder care provider for several months in the fall of 2014 for our 90-year-old mother with advanced dementia and limited mobility. Dina's human warmth and supportive attitude shown while working with my mother was truly commendable. Her work ethic and determination to follow through in helping my mother be physically clean, well-groomed, and lovingly cared for are praiseworthy. Dina prepared simple snacks and meals as needed, and maintained a clean, safe surrounding space for mom. I fully recommend Dina as a companion/caregiver.

- Richard G., Massachusetts

My mother will be 85 this year (2017). Her dementia began in 2010 and by 2011 it was clear she needed full-time care. Her stort-term memory is non-existent and she is very frail, thus cooking, self-care, and basic mobility are very limited. Basically, my mother is incapable of caring for herself in any way. She requires oxygen regularly and is on two medications to manage depression and anxiety. On top of her physical situation, she has an addictive personality that includes alcohol and cigarettes. While we've weaned her off cigarettes, she is firmly addicted to alcohol, and handling this with sensitivity is critical. With regard to my mother's physical capability, she requires assistance with every bodily function. She can become quite manic, that is, imbued with an excess of energy, or be very lethargic. Also, this year she has become increasingly incontinent. In short, she needs someone who can live with her full time to cook, adapt to her idiosyncratic needs, toilet her, shower her, make sure she is content with TV, movies, magazines, etc., move her from bed to wheelchair, to chair, to shower and so on. I've taken care of my mother full time for short periods and am well aware of the challenges. Dina has cared for my mother off and on for three years. Dina learned how to deal with my mom, keep her on a schedule, administer her medications, care for her physical and hygiene needs, and manage her various symptoms. Dina is not only competent with my mother's physical needs, but she has a great sense of humor and patience, and recognizes when she needs to be with mom, or to retreat. Dina is a hard worker, and very smart and capable. I have been living with my mother and with Dina for the past few months and thus I have an intimate knowledge of Dina's care of my mother. I whole-heartedly recommend her for any situation. The only reason she left is that my sister decided to care for our mom full time. If I had my way, Dina would be staying here with us.

- Cynthia B., New Mexico

Dina filled in for my father's regular live-in caregiver for two weeks at the end of December 2015. Dad was bedridden, incontinent and unable to feed himself. All of his food had to be blended or thickened. Dina dealt with these issues with care understanding and respect. My dad was in home hospice care and Dina interacted well with the hospice staff as well as with other visitors to the house. Lastly, Dina did a great job of housekeeping and keeping up with a large amount of laundry. This was in addition to the extreme amount of attention my dad required. In sum, Dina was very cooperative with Dad and me. She gave maximum effort under difficult circumstances and my overall experience with her was excellent.

- Jim M., Connecticut

Work Experience

LeanOnWe Customers
Private Clients

Work Locations

Manhattan
Bronx
Brooklyn
Staten Island
Queens
Nassau
Westchester
Rockland
Northern New Jersey
Central New Jersey
Southern Connecticut
Florida

Specialities

Advanced Dementia
Alcohol or Drug Dependency
Alzheimer's
Cancer
Cardiac Condition
Catheter
Colostomy
Dementia
Depression
Diabetes
Hospice
Hoyer Lift
Mobility
Newborns
Oxygen
Paralysis
Parkinson's
Stroke

Dietary Specialities

Diabetic
Kosher
Liquid
Low-fat
No Salt
Puree
Vegetarian

Degrees & Certificates

Master's in Philology and Linguistics, Tomsk State University, Russia
Personal Care Aide, Graduate

Transportation to Job

Can Drive: Yes
Public Transportation: Yes
Car: Yes

Languages

English (Fluent)
Russian (Fluent)

Ready For Your Free Consultation?

CALL

844-532-6669

Hours:  8am - 6pm x 7 days
(and after hours if you need us)

Serving Metro New York & Connecticut

SEND US A MESSAGE

If you are seeking work and haven't completed an application, please submit an application here