Suleymana M.

Request
Call Us!
844-532-6669

Availability

Hourly

Requested Rate

Hourly: $20 / hour

Experience

8 years

About Me

I was born and raised in Ghana on the west coast of Africa. I was an auto mechanic for 8 years in Ghana, and later moved to South Africa, where I continued to work as a mechanic for more than 2 years. I came to the United States in 2014 and decided to become a caregiver. Being a caregiver is a passion for me. I took care of my grandfather for more than 3 years until he passed away. Sometimes I believe that taking care of my grandfather helped me to develop the skills to care for others. I also love and care for people no matter who they are and irrespective of their situation. I make sure I am always there to make them happy and comfortable. I like the communication and the relationships I always build with clients and their families, and also the experiences they share with me. I really enjoy every bit of this job. I am able to meet different kinds of people with different backgrounds and cultures. Also, I like the fact that I learn something new every day, which doesn’t make my job boring at all. I am very respectful, caring, and reliable. I am hard working, always smiling, but very serious with my job. My client is always my top priority. When I am not working, I love to read books about life and listen to music.

Recommendations

Suleymana took care of my 85-year-old husband soon after he came home from the hospital. My husband was in the hospital for two months and, among other things, he came home weak and extremely out of condition. Neither my husband nor I was accustomed to having caregivers in the apartment but Sully made everything easy. He is a gentle, kind young man who was happy to do whatever it took to make life better for my husband and for me. Sully is strong and my 170-pound husband frequently needed help in standing or being pushed in a wheelchair. Sully was willing to take initiative if the situation called for it or to lay back and follow my husband’s instructions. My husband has many, many medical problems but cognition is not one of them. Sully was able to respect my husband’s wishes and to make both of our lives less stressful. Everything Sully did was for my husband’s benefit and it was always done in a kind, thoughtful, agreeable way. I recommend him strongly to anyone needing a caring caregiver.

- Joan Y., New York, LeanOnWe Customer

Suleymana took care of my father from 2016 until he passed away in November 2017. The last year of my father's life was very difficult. He was in a wheelchair and his mind wasn't all there. He had severe mood swings that led him to be hospitalized at times. Suleymana supplemented our 24/7 live-in help for about 3-4 days a week. I'll never forget the first day with Suleymana there. My brother and I liked to be around the first day with a new caregiver to make sure everything was running smoothly with the transition. My father had just woken up from a nap and he was screaming and fighting, going through one of his episodes We were comforting him for HOURS and finally I decided that I had to get him to the hospital. The whole time, Suleymana had his hand on my father's wheelchair making sure that he wasn't going to fall backwards from his rage. And he kept telling me that this all would pass because he could tell I was getting emotional. It was extremely comforting. My father was in the hospital for a week, and Suleymana actually came back to us. I was nervous that we had scared him away, but that's the kind of person he is. He looked out for my father and genuinely cared about him. It was very hard for us to find a reliable male caregiver, but I'm so glad that we found Suleymana. I recommend him wholeheartedly.

- Maro A., Pennsylvania

Work Experience

PH Health Care
AH Care
Private Client

Work Locations

Manhattan
Bronx
Brooklyn
Staten Island
Queens

Specialities

Advanced Dementia
Alzheimer's
Brain Injury
Cancer
Catheter
Colostomy
Dementia
Diabetes
Hospice
Hoyer Lift
Mental Illness
Mobility
Multiple Sclerosis
Oxygen
Paralysis
Parkinson's
Stroke
Trach
Wounds

Dietary Specialities

Diabetic
Liquid
Low-fat
Puree

Degrees & Certificates

Home Health Aide, Graduate

Transportation to Job

Can Drive: Yes
Public Transportation: No
Car: Yes

Languages

English (Fluent)
Hausa (Fluent)
Twi (Fluent)

Ready For Your Free Consultation?

CALL

844-532-6669

Hours:  8am - 6pm x 7 days
(and after hours if you need us)

Serving Metro New York & Connecticut

SEND US A MESSAGE

If you are seeking work and haven't completed an application, please submit an application here